Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s that simple.
Good writing and bad writing are subjective to the reader. However, nothing good can ever be written without also writing something bad.

I’d like to use this blog for friendly, occasionally obscure, quirky writing advice. I love to write, mostly poetry, and I’ve heard and read so much advice over the years on “How to write”, “What makes a good writer”, and/or “How to improve your writing”.

This isn’t a “How to” advice blog.
This blog is not only meant to inspire or provoke creativity in others, but also myself. I will post about my writing experiences along with a variety of other writers’ experiences, thoughts, and works.

I love quotes.
I’m currently taking a Philosophy class called Logic and Critical Thinking. At the beginning of every class, my teacher starts off with a quote. The quotes are usually someone stating “this particular thing is good/bad and this is why”. The premise of their statement is usually founded on their personal “authority” on the matter. An example would be…”I am a writer. I write during moments of intense emotional frustration. Writing always helps clear my mind. Therefore, any intelligent writer should use writing as therapy. I know it works.”
This quote is based entirely on the fact that writing helps me. However, what’s good for me, may not be good for you. This is precisely why I do not want to tell you how to write, but merely inspire and in turn be inspired, through suggestion.

I think there is one phrase any writer can agree with and that is, writers write.

I really have no authority on the matter of writing. The only reason I call myself a writer is because I write, frequently. I am a 25 year old college student, and I’m irresponsible with my life and love. But, amidst the chaos, there is one thing I’m certain of and that is my passion for writing.
That is what I want to share with you.

I’ll leave you with this quote about advice and success from fellow writer G.K. Chesterton…
Chesterton

A paradoxical statement for a blog about advice, but it clarifies how I feel on the matter…and I love a good paradox.
Take the advice or don’t.
Either way, I hope you enjoy.

This quote along with 29 other quotes about writing can be found here.
I encourage you to check them out.

Farewell,
Brandy Danielle

