Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are many reasons to write. As I’ve discussed before, if you write, you’re a writer. Own it.
But…
Why do you do it?

Do you get paid?
Do you get off?
Do you weep/rejoice with pen and paper?
Do you do it for the recognition?
Do you do it to change lives?

Why Write

Plato said that Socrates said “The unexamined life is not worth living.”

Most writers feel compelled to write, as mentioned by Ali Hale in “Five Reasons Why Your Writing Matters (Even if No-One Will Take You Seriously).”
“It’s a calling,” said Hale.

Sure, it’s a calling, but that doesn’t satisfy me. I want to get personal.
I want to know why YOU write.
I want YOU to know why you write.

It’s important to reflect on why you do what you do, whether it’s writing or not.
I encourage all of you not to appeal to common practice, or appeal to popularity, but appeal to yourself.
Know who you are as a writer and why.

The question of ‘Why Write?’ is not a breakthrough idea.
I’m sure you’re not all saying, “Wow I never really thought about why I write before.” It seems like it would be difficult to be a writer without having asked this question. But, it’s important to re-evaluate or re-examine as Socrates would (allegedly) say. Why is an important question, and the answer can be more inspiring than you might expect…

I’ll leave you with an essay by George Orwell titled “Why I Write.

Leave a comment and let me know why you write, or don’t.
But, at least know for yourself.

Au Revoir,
Brandy Danielle

