Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I want to write,
I need to write,
The words are in my soul.

I live to write,
I breathe to write,
It’s what can make me whole.

I write poetry. I read poetry. I love poetry.
Somebody once told me that attention spans are the length in seconds of an individual’s age. I am 25, but my attention span is probably that of a 3 year old.
I think this is one of the reasons I love poetry so much.

I love that you can tell a life story through a Haiku, describe a day or an emotion in a few lines, and hit someone in the emotional chest so hard that it literally takes their breath away. There aren’t many forms of writing that allow the kind of condensed depth that poetry does.
I can’t seem to finish a book to save my life, but give me Walt Whitman’s “Leaves of Grass” and I’ll read with no hesitation.

I love finding obscure poets online that spill their hearts through words. I love reading the kind of poetry where there is no clear line drawn between your life and that of the poet.
With that said, I’d like to let you know that the next few posts will be about poets and poetry.

I’d like to introduce to you Tyler Knott Gregson.
He refers to himself as the typewriter poet. His medium is a typewriter and random scraps of paper. I’ve also seen his poetry typed on a leaf.
Sometimes his words are short, and sometimes they are lengthy. However, they’re so intense that no matter the length, I find myself always wanting more.
On Gregson’s tumblr, he writes a Haiku a day. He is also a photographer and sometimes gives breathtaking descriptions of his pictures.

Tyler Knott
Gregson has an amazing way with his words. He is a beautiful writer, and I hope you think so too.

If you would like to be featured, please send your poetry to adviceforwritersbrand@gmail.com. I’d love to hear what you have to say.

Hasta la próxima vez,
Brandy Danielle

