Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s almost mind numbing to think our thoughts and actions have been shaped by media.
It makes me want to reconsider every thought I have (i.e. Is the mind numbing-ness thought something that the media now wants me to have? Is the media now shifting for us to reconsider our actions?)

As a writer, more specifically journalist, therefore media contributor, what is my contribution to all of this?

Some people, dare I say most people, see advertising, marketing, newspaper and magazine articles, but don’t analyze them.

What are these writers trying to tell me?
What information am I allowing my psyche to consume without consideration?
How are these opinions forming my views?

These are important questions to consider as a media consumer, which all of us are.

I came upon this Huffington Post article titled “7 Ways The Beauty Industry Convinced Women That They Weren’t Good Enough.”

“1. Your natural hair color isn’t pretty enough.”
“2. Your body hair is gross.”
“3. Your skin is too dark.”
“4. Actually, your skin is too light.”
“5. Your cellulite’s an eyesore. It must be banished.”
“6. Your unmanicured nails are unsightly.”
“7. Your eyelashes aren’t long enough.”

As a woman, I’ve considered all of the above, but personally my battle has always been with weight. However, most of the concerns above have never shaped my mentality, and I think that’s mostly because I was raised by a man. These beauty ideals weren’t ingrained into me because a man, a good man, doesn’t define a woman based on these silly statements.

But when I think of my grandmother, coming in to her own during a time when beauty was being restructured by the media, I wonder if she questioned things like shaving her armpits, tanning, or making sure her nails were done so that “her man” would love her more, or so that she would be more pleasant upon a man’s gracious eyesight.

Then I think of my lady friends, and every woman I’ve ever known.
These beauty ideals have truly shaped women’s identity.

And it’s all because someone made a product and preyed on the weakness of a group of individuals to get rich.

Now, I’m not saying that beauty standards should be reshaped, but I am calling for a more enlightened future.

As a consumer, I am asking for you to THINK and ANALYZE every commercial or advertisement you see.
As a contributor, I am asking you to CONSIDER what you are promoting and why. Is it for the betterment of another’s life or the betterment of your own?

I’m challenging every individual involved in the creation of media (bloggers, writers, musicians, advertising consultants, marketing executives, etc.) to create for the betterment of MANKIND, not the betterment of YOUR pocket.

This is a plea from a little girl who’s wished for worldwide peace, equality, and happiness her entire life.
This is a plea from a woman who wishes to change the world and who tries to be the change she wishes to see.
I don’t expect society to change in the blink of an eye, but I can dream it.
I can influence others to do the same.
I can at least call for the beginning of a new media, a new understanding.

I know I’m not the only one with these ideals, and I also know that fame and money has suppressed many more of these thoughts and desires than you or I could ever count.

But is it really worth it?

Can judgement be redefined by a higher standard in the media?

That is a question only to be answered by time and action.

In progress and success, let us not think only for our individual futures, let us think of the future of the human race.

(Insert cheezy quote here about the future of love and kindness and world peace.)

You, as a contributor and consumer of media, really are the future. You have a choice to believe what you see and read. You have a choice to control what you create.

Media is the future, and we all make an impact.

Image

With all the love within me,
Brandy D.

 

