Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Maya Angelou is the number two poet out of the top 500 on PoemHunter.com, and she only has 28 poems listed. She’s listed behind Robert Frost and beats William Shakespeare at number three.
Though it should really come as no surprise with poems such as “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings” and “Phenomenal Woman.”

Maya AngelouThe death of such a beautiful writer has got me thinking. There will come a day when I can no longer write. That day will come for you too, and what will they read?
Tweets are pouring in as Maya Angelou trends on Twitter, most of which quote pieces of her work like, “My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive,” and the eloquence of it all is inspiring.

She left us a long list of beautiful words invoking passion, something that every writer can only hope to do in their passing.

maya2Miss Angelou leaves a soft and lovely elegance that begs for purity and love. As the world takes the day to reflect on her work, I’d like to remind you to learn “The Lesson.”

The Lesson
By Maya Angelou

I keep on dying again.
Veins collapse, opening like the
Small fists of sleeping
Children.
Memory of old tombs,
Rotting flesh and worms do
Not convince me against
The challenge. The years
And cold defeat live deep in
Lines along my face.
They dull my eyes, yet
I keep on dying,
Because I love to live.

Let us not forget the love we must carry for life, and the truth we all live. Let the pouring rain remind you that you live. Let the drenching days remind you to love. Always keep on. Live your life’s passion.

With all the love within me,
Brandy D.

 

 

